The Story of Prophet Idris (Enoch) alaihi salam

Maryam 19: 56-57

And mention in the Book (the Qur’ân) Idris (Enoch).Verily! he was a man of truth, (and) a Prophet. (56) And We raised him to a high station. (57)

Al Anbiya’ 21: 85-86

And (remember) Isma’îl (Ishmael), and Idris (Enoch) and Dhul-Kifl (Isaiah), all were from among As-Sâbirun (the patient). (85) And We admitted them to Our Mercy. Verily, they were of the righteous (86)

Allah praised Prophet Idris and described him as Prophet, truthful and among the righteous.

After Prophet Adam alaihi salam and Sheeth (Seth), he was the first man to be sent as a prophet, peace be upon all of them.

Ibn Ishaq said, he was the first man to write with a pen.

Allah said, “And We raised him high in the heaven.”The explanation of this ayah is mentioned in both Bukhari and Muslim which is the hadith concerning teh Nigt of Journey of our Prophet sallallahu alaihi salam. the hadith says, “The prophet passed by him on the fourth heaven.”

The Book of Faith (Kitab Al-Iman)

Muslim :: Book 1 : Hadith 309

It is narrated on the authority of Anas b. Malik that the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) said: I was brought al-Buraq Who is an animal white and long, larger than a donkey but smaller than a mule, who would place his hoof a distance equal to the range of version. I mounted it and came to the Temple (Bait Maqdis in Jerusalem), then tethered it to the ring used by the prophets. I entered the mosque and prayed two rak’ahs in it, and then came out and Gabriel brought me a vessel of wine and a vessel of milk. I chose the milk, and Gabriel said: You have chosen the natural thing. Then he took me to heaven. Gabriel then asked the (gate of heaven) to be opened and he was asked who he was. He replied: Gabriel. He was again asked: Who is with you? He (Gabriel) said: Muhammad. It was said: Has he been sent for? Gabriel replied: He has indeed been sent for. And (the door of the heaven) was opened for us and lo! we saw Adam. He welcomed me and prayed for my good. Then we ascended to the second heaven. Gabriel (peace be upon him) (asked the door of heaven to be opened), and he was asked who he was. He answered: Gabriel; and was again asked: Who is with you? He replied: Muhammad. It was said: Has he been sent for? He replied: He has indeed been sent for. The gate was opened. When I entered ‘Isa b. Maryam and Yahya b. Zakariya (peace be upon both of them), cousins from the maternal side. welcomed me and prayed for my good Then I was taken to the third heaven and Gabriel asked for the opening (of the door). He was asked: Who are you? He replied: Gabriel. He was (again) asked: Who is with you? He replied Muhammad (may peace be upon him). It was said: Has he been sent for? He replied He has indeed been sent for. (The gate) was opened for us and I saw Yusuf (peace of Allah be upon him) who had been given half of (world) beauty. He welcomed me prayed for my well-being. Then he ascended with us to the fourth heaven. Gabriel (peace be upon him) asked for the (gate) to be opened, and it was said: Who is he? He replied: Gabriel. It was (again) said: Who is with you? He said: Muhammad. It was said: Has he been sent for? He replied: He has indeed been sent for. The (gate) was opened for us, and lo! Idris was there. He welcomed me and prayed for my well-being (About him) Allah, the Exalted and the Glorious, has said:” We elevated him (Idris) to the exalted position” (Qur’an xix. 57). Then he ascended with us to the fifth heaven and Gabriel asked for the (gate) to be opened. It was said: Who is he? He replied Gabriel. It was (again) said: Who is with thee? He replied: Muhammad. It was said Has he been sent for? He replied: He has indeed been sent for. (The gate) was opened for us and then I was with Harun (Aaron-peace of Allah be upon him). He welcomed me prayed for my well-being. Then I was taken to the sixth heaven. Gabriel (peace be upon him) asked for the door to be opened. It was said: Who is he? He replied: Gabriel. It was said: Who is with thee? He replied: Muhammad. It was said: Has he been sent for? He replied: He has indeed been sent for. (The gate) was opened for us and there I was with Musa (Moses peace be upon him) He welcomed me and prayed for my well-being. Then I was taken up to the seventh heaven. Gabriel asked the (gate) to be opened. It was said: Who is he? He said: Gabriel It was said. Who is with thee? He replied: Muhammad (may peace be upon him.) It was said: Has he been sent for? He replied: He has indeed been sent for. (The gate) was opened for us and there I found Ibrahim (Abraham peace be upon him) reclining against the Bait-ul-Ma’mur and there enter into it seventy thousand angels every day, never to visit (this place) again. Then I was taken to Sidrat-ul-Muntaha whose leaves were like elephant ears and its fruit like big earthenware vessels. And when it was covered by the Command of Allah, it underwent such a change that none amongst the creation has the power to praise its beauty.

Ibn Jareer reported on the authority of Hilal ibn Yasaf who said, “Ibn Abbas asked Ka’ab in my presence, “What is the meaning of the verse,’And We raised him high in the heaven?’ And we raised him high in the heaven? “Ka’an replied, “Allah revealed to Idris, ‘I would raise for you every day the same amount of the deeds of all Adam’s children.’ Perhaps what he meant was referring to the deeds of his time only. So Idris wanted to increase his deeds.

It is said that Idris had a friend from among the angels. When this angel come to visit him, Idris said to the angel, “Allah has revealed to me such and such, so could you please speak to the angel of death so that I could increase my deeds.” The angel then carried him on his wings and went up into the heaven. When they passed by the fourth heaven, they me the angel of death, who was descending. The angel spoke to him regarding what Idris had spoken to him before.

The angel of death said, “Where is Idris?” He replied, “he is upon my back.” The angle of death said, ‘How amazing, I was sent to seize his soul and told tomeet him in the fourth heaven. I kept thinking how I could seize it in the fourth heaven when he is on the earth?” then he took his soul out. This is what s meant in the verse, “And we raised him high in the heaven.”

Subhanallah, you cannot run away when your time has come.

Reference
Stories of The Prophets Ibn kathir

Leave a comment

Filed under Islamic Stories/ Seerah

Leave a Reply

