Muawwidhatain

Muawwidhatain are the two surahs that seek protection which are Suratul Falaq and Suratun Nas.

The Book of the Virtues of the Noble Quran
Sahih Muslim

Uqbah bin Amir narrated that the Messenger of Allah saw said; “Some verses were revealed to me this night, that are incomparable : Surah Al Falaq and Surah Annas.”

Lesson from this hadith
These two surahs are incomparable to other surahs.

Virtues of the Surah


Imam Ahmad recorded from `Uqbah bin `Amir that he said,
“While I was leading the Messenger of Allah along one of these paths he said,
(O `Uqbah! Will you not ride)
I was afraid that this might be considered an act of disobedience. So the Messenger of Allah got down and I rode for a while. Then he rode. Then he said,
(O `Uqbah! Should I not teach you two Surahs that are of the best two Surahs that the people recite)
I said, `Of course, O Messenger of Allah.’ So he taught me to recite
(Say: “I seek refuge with the Lord of Al-Falaq.”) (113:1) and
(Say: “I seek refuge with the Lord of mankind.”) (114:1)
Then the call was given to begin the prayer and the Messenger of Allah went forward (to lead the people), and he recited them in the prayer. Afterwards he passed by me and said,
(What do you think, O `Uqayb Recite these two Surahs whenever you go to sleep and whenever you get up.)’‘

Lessons
1. The surahs are the best two surahs
2. Recite it when going to sleep.

Prayer (Kitab Al-Salat): Detailed Injunctions about Witr
Dawud :: Book 8 : Hadith 1458

Narrated Uqbah ibn Amir:
White I was travelling with the Apostle of Allah (peace_be_upon_him) between al-Juhfah and al-Abwa’, a wind and intense darkness enveloped us, whereupon the Apostle of Allah (peace_be_upon_him) began to seek refuge in Allah, reciting: “I seek refuge in the Lord of the dawn,” and “I seek refuge in the Lord of men.”
He then said: Uqbah, use them when seeking refuge in Allah, for no one can use anything to compare with them for the purpose.
Uqbah added: I heard him reciting them when he led the people in prayer.

An Nasa’I recorded that Ibn Abis Al Juhani said that the Prophet s.a.w. said to him

O Ibn Abis! Shall I not guide you to – or inform you – of the best thing that those who seek protection use for protection?
He replied, “Of course, O Messenger of Allah!” The Prophet s.a.w said
Say “I seek refuge with the Lord of Al Falaq.” and say “I seek refuge with the Lord of Mankind.” These two surahs are the best protection.
It has been reported from Abu Said that the Messenger of Allah s.a.w. used to seek protection against the evil eyes of the Jinns and mankind. But when the Muawwidhatayn were revealed, he then used them for protection and abandon all else.

Lesson
1. These two surahs are surah to seek refuge
2. We are to seek Allah’s protection from the evil eyes of both the Jinn and Mankind.

Medicine
Bukhari :: Book 7 :: Volume 71 :: Hadith 644


Narrated ‘Aisha:
Whenever Allah’s Apostle went to bed, he used to recite Surat-al-Ikhlas, Surat-al-Falaq and Surat-an-Nas and then blow on his palms and pass them over his face and those parts of his body that his hands could reach. And when he fell ill, he used to order me to do like that for him.

Lesson
1. The manners of reading the the three quls before going to sleep
2. Someone else can do it on us when we are sick.

The Book on Salutations and Greetings (Kitab As-Salam)
Muslim :: Book 26 : Hadith 5425

Abu Sa’id reported that Gabriel came to AJlah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) and said: Muhammad, have you fallen ill? Thereupon he said: Yes. He (Gabriel) said:” In the name of Allah I exercise you from everything and safeguard you from every evil that may harm you and from the eye of a jealous one. Allah would cure you and I invoke the name of Allah for you.”
The Book on Salutations and Greetings (Kitab As-Salam)

Lesson
1. Jealousy can harm a person
2. We seek Allah’s refuge to protect us and cure us from jealousy
3. We can make ruqyah on another person as well as ourselves.

The Bewitchment of the Prophet Mohammad s.a.w
Book of Medicine
Bukhari :: Book 7 :: Volume 71 :: Hadith 661

Narrated ‘Aisha:
Magic was worked on Allah’s Apostle so that he began to imagine that he had done something although he had not. One day while he was with me, he invoked Allah and invoked for a long period and then said,
“O ‘Aisha! Do you know that Allah has instructed me regarding the matter I asked Him about?” I asked, “What is that, O Allah’s Apostle?”
He said, “Two men came to me; one of them sat near my head and the other sat near my feet. One of them asked his companion, ‘What is the disease of this man?’ The other replied, ‘He is under the effect of magic.’ The first one asked, ‘Who has worked magic on him?” The other replied, ‘Labid bin A’sam, a Jew from the tribe of Bani Zuraiq.’ The (first one asked), ‘With what has it been done?’ The other replied, ‘With a a comb and the hair stuck to it and a skin of the pollen of a male date palm tree.’ The first one asked, ‘Where is it?’ The other replied, ‘In the well of Dharwan.’

Then the Prophet went along with some of his companions to that well and looked at that and there were date palms near to it. Then he returned to me and said, ‘By Allah the water of that well was (red) like the infusion of Henna leaves and its date-palms were like the heads of devils” I said, O Allah’s Apostle! Did you take those materials out of the pollen skin?” He said, ‘No! As for me Allah has healed me and cured me and I was afraid that (by Showing that to the people) I would spread evil among them when he ordered that the well be filled up with earth, and it was filled up with earth “

Lessons.
1. Recite the Muawwidhatain often
2. Check list (revision and checking)
i. After solatul Fajr – 3 quls 3 times
ii. Morning adzkar – 3 quls 3 times
iii. After solatuz Dzuhur – 3 quls once
iv. After Solatul Asr – 3 quls once
v. Evening adzkar – 3 quls 3 times
vi. After Solatul mahrib – 3 quls 3 times
viii. After solatul Isya’ – 3 quls once
ix. Before sleeping – 3 quls 3 times blown onto palm and wipe over the body

3. Recite the Muawwidhatain to yourself when you are not well.
4. You can recite al Muawwidhatain to others when they are not well too.

Advice on what to do when you are someone is sick. I was listening to a halaqah sometime ago and the advice is not to be ashame to perform a simple ruqyah when you are visiting someone sick. Perhaps through you Allah will grant syifaaa to the person or through you Allah will guide some people. Allah Musta’an.

Read this article on making ruqyah when someone is sick.

Leave a comment

Filed under Al Quran

Leave a Reply

