Hadith Qudsi : Al fatehah

The Book of Prayers (Kitab Al-Salat)

Muslim :: Book 4 : Hadith 775

Abu Huraira reported: The Apostle of Allah (may peace be upon him) said: If anyone observes prayer in which he does not recite Umm al-Qur’an, It is deficient [he said this three times] and not complete. It was said to Abu Huraira: At times we are behind the Imam. He said: Recite it inwardly, for he had heard the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) declare that Allah the Exalted had said: I have divided the prayer into two halves between Me and My servant, and My servant will receive what he asks. When the servant says: Praise be to Allah, the Lord of the universe, Allah the Most High says: My servant has praised Me. And when he (the servant) says: The Most Compassionate, the Merciful, Allah the Most High says: My servant has lauded Me. And when he (the servant) says: Master of the Day of judg- ment, He remarks: My servant has glorified Me. and sometimes He would say: My servant entrusted (his affairs) to Me. And when he (the worshipper) says: Thee do we worship and of Thee do we ask help, He (Allah) says: This is between Me and My servant, and My servant will receive what he asks for. Then, when he (the worshipper) says: Guide us to the straight path, the path of those to whom Thou hast been Gracious not of those who have incurred Thy displeasure, nor of those who have gone astray, He (Allah) says: This is for My servant, and My servant will receive what he asks for. Sufyan said: ‘Ala b. ‘Abd al-Rahman b. Ya’qub narrated it to me when I went to him and he was confined to his home on account of illness, and I asked him about it.

This is one of the hadith Qudsi.

The next time you are reciting Al fatehah, know that you are having a conversation with Allah.

When you say

ٱلۡحَمۡدُ لِلَّهِ رَبِّ ٱلۡعَـٰلَمِينَ

All praises be to Allah, Lord of the worlds.

Allah says : My slave has praised me.

ٱلرَّحۡمَـٰنِ ٱلرَّحِيمِ

The Most Gracious, Most Merciful
Allah says My servant has lauded Me.

مَـٰلِكِ يَوۡمِ ٱلدِّينِ

He is the Owner of the day of judgment
Allah says : My slave has glorified Me and sometimes He says My slave has surrendered himself to My will.

إِيَّاكَ نَعۡبُدُ وَإِيَّاكَ نَسۡتَعِينُ

You we worship and from You we seek help
Allah says This is between Me and My slave. My slave will have whatever he has asked for

ٱهۡدِنَا ٱلصِّرَٲطَ ٱلۡمُسۡتَقِيمَ (٦) صِرَٲطَ ٱلَّذِينَ أَنۡعَمۡتَ عَلَيۡهِمۡ غَيۡرِ ٱلۡمَغۡضُوبِ عَلَيۡهِمۡ وَلَا ٱلضَّآلِّينَ

Guide us to the straight path, the path of those on whom You bestowed Your favours. not (the way) of those who earned Your Anger (such as the Jews), nor of those who went astray
Allah says This is for My slave and My slave will have what he has asked for.

Ibn Taymiyyah said in the superiority of this surah

All the previous revelations (Books) were summarised in the three last books : The torah, Psalms and the Bible, these were in turn included in the Quran, the Quran was also summarised in the opening chapter. he added: It is an anvocation, a prayer, a remembrance, and it included monotheism, servitude of Muslims to Allah and it curses the jews and the Christians who went astray. It is, to conclude, the best surah of the Quran.

4 Comments

Filed under Al Quran, hadith, Solat

4 responses to “Hadith Qudsi : Al fatehah

  1. Pingback: Hadith Qudsi : Al fatehah | Lollies Place | Find Best Information about Islam on Internet

  2. Sirajudeen Apalara

    As salam alaikum… May peace of ALLAH(SA) be upon our noble prophet MUHAMMED(SAW)ameen.I appreciate ur response.

  3. Siti Darita

    Thank you so very much. I learned a lot & now I know where I had gone wrong. Alhamdulillah3.

Leave a Reply

